Dobyns-Bennett Alumni Hall of Fame

ABOUT the hall of fame

During the many years of existence of Dobyns-Bennett the school has graduated many students who continued their growth to extremely high levels of achievement and have made major contributions to society. To recognize and honor such accomplishments and contributions, in 2009 we established the first Dobyns-Bennett Alumni Association Hall of Fame and inducted the first five members.
The accomplishments of those in the Hall of Fame are very impressive and I urge you to learn about these incredible men and women from Kingsport.
The Dobyns-Bennett High School Alumni Association Board is proud to announce the Dobyns-Bennett Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2023:
  • William C. Argabrite, Class of 1971
  • Clay Harkleroad, Jr., Class of 1961
  • Sharon Bass Loughran, Class of 1980
  • Joe Meade, Class of 1968
  • Frank R. Odum, Class of 1935
  • Dr. Glenn Young, Class of 1969
The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Saturday, October 28, 2023 at 11 a.m. at Eastman Lodge located at 406 Bays Mountain Park Road, Kingsport. Registration opens at 10:15 a.m. Ceremony begins at 11 a.m.
Dobyns-Bennett Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Ticket(s)

HALL OF FAME nominations

Nominees should be Dobyns-Bennett graduates and/or teachers and administrators who had a profound effect on Dobyns-Bennett High School and have had a successful and influential life, not only in regard to Dobyns-Bennett, but with their family, community, career, and others. There are 20 nomination categories to choose from.

Nomination categories for Dobyns-Bennett Graduates include: Academics, administrator/teacher, arts, athletics, business, church and ministerial, entertainment, government services/humanitarian, judicial and legal, literature, medical, military service, news and communications (media), politics, public service and science.

Nominations for the Class of 2023 are closed. Nominations for the Class of 2024 will be accepted until May 31, 2024. 


Completed nomination forms may be submitted in the following ways:

  • Mail form to the Dobyns-Bennett High School Alumni Association, P.O. Box 3337, Kingsport, TN 37664

  • Email form to [email protected]